• follow us:

  • Join 238 other followers

  • weekly features:

  • categories

Wednesday WANTS: Nursery

simple, modern, urban nursery

I wanted to share Jax’s nursery that my husband and I put together.  We knew we wanted to have a fairly cheap nursery (around $500-$600), so of course we went to the most logical place for cheap furniture- IKEA and what we already owned (thrifts & used baby goods stores area always good too!).

THE THEME: modern, simple, urban.  I tend to lean towards the simple, modern looks with a slightly urban feel.  I don’t often pick bright colors, but knew we should incorporate color since it’s so important for children to be exposed to it.  I also love natural wood, so we choose these items from IKEA:

SNIGLAR Crib, beech Length: 53 7/8 " Width: 29 1/8 " Height: 33 1/8 " Bed width: 27 1/2 " Bed length: 52 "  Length: 137 cm Width: 74 cm Height: 84 cm Bed width: 70 cm Bed length: 132 cm

SNIGLAR Crib, beech - $69.99 (on sale now) + mattress $59.99

BARNSLIG RINGDANS Rug, green Length: 4 ' 4 " Width: 4 ' 4 "  Length: 133 cm Width: 133 cm

BARNSLIG RINGDANS Rug, green - $29.99

GULLIVER Changing table, birch Length: 32 1/4 " Width: 21 1/4 " Height: 36 5/8 "  Length: 82 cm Width: 54 cm Height: 93 cm

gulliver changing table - $69.99

POÄNG Rocking chair, birch veneer, Dala natural Width: 26 3/4 " Depth: 37 " Height: 37 3/8 " Seat width: 22 " Seat depth: 19 5/8 " Seat height: 17 3/4 "  Width: 68 cm Depth: 94 cm Height: 95 cm Seat width: 56 cm Seat depth: 50 cm Seat height: 45 cm

poang rocking chair $169 + foot stool $59.99

We also bought: LEN- fitted sheets in green- $9.99/2-pack, LEN Pillow- $5.99, LEN pillowcase $4.99/2-pack

CHOOSING THE PAINT:  We used a low VOC brand (Sherwin Williams) and multiple gray tones on the same paint card to keep a cohesive look.  I made a template for painting stripes (what paint color to use where and how wide they were).  RB (my husband) did most of the painting and putting together of furniture, since i was pregnant at the time.  He also did it while I was away on a business trip to lower my exposure to VOCs.

Gray always says modern to me when done right. It’s sleek, but not as shocking as black. And for some reason, I really was into this green color- normally I don’t like green. I love combining gray tones with natural wood. I also tend to like saturated colors when I do use color. Here’s more pics (sorry for the graininess- I used my cell)!

I think we did pretty good for our first nursery! We got the mobile and some other things throughout the room from my mother in law and my mother helped with the furniture. The tall dresser was my husbands and the little trunk next to the rocker is mine. I bought two cheap lamps and a $5 clock at target.  Since taking these pictures, I’ve also hung up some cute artwork by my nieces & nephew on my husband’s side.  They drew some cute pictures of me and Jax while I was pregnant.  I’ll have to post those at a later date since I am up visiting Meg right now!  The two walls you don’t see are white, and one has a UofA “fathead” helmet on it (had to incorporate my husband’s love for his alma mater).

Till next time! <3 ash

Leave a Reply

