• follow us:

  • Join 238 other followers

  • weekly features:

  • categories

Monday Meals: Baked Chicken Taquitos

Taquitos! Who doesn't LOVE these?

I took today’s recipe from Very Culinary.  I had to alter them as I couldn’t get many of these things in China (I’ll go through the main recipe first and then tell you what I did!) but they turned out so good regardless . . . so use the recipe provided or do my quick and easy version.  Either way, I think you’ll be very happy with the results.

 

Baked Chicken Taquitos from Very Culinary
Makes 12 taquitos
Prep time: 20 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients
• 3 ounces cream cheese, softened
• 1/4 cup salsa (green or red)
• 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
• 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
• 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
• 1/2 teaspoon onion powder
• 2 cloves garlic, minced
• 3 tablespoons chopped parsley
• 2 scallions, chopped
• 2 cups shredded cooked chicken
• 1 cup shredded pepper jack cheese
• 12 (6 inch) flour tortillas
• kosher salt
• cooking spray

Directions
Preheat your oven to 425?F. Line a baking sheet with a silpat matte or foil lightly coated with cooking spray.

In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients (except the tortillas.)

Working with a few tortillas at a time, heat them in the microwave between two paper towels until they are soft enough to roll (about 20 – 30 seconds) or if you’re like me and don’t have a microwave or paper towels . . . place tortillas on an steamer pan in a pot of boiling water to steam them for a couple of minutes.

Spoon 2-3 tablespoons of the chicken mixture onto the lower third of a tortilla. Roll the tortilla as tightly as you can.  I sealed the tortilla with cream cheese at the edge (see my version below).

Place the rolled tortilla seam side down on the baking sheet (or in a pile if you intend to fry because there are NO ovens in China). Repeat with remaining tortillas until the mixture is gone, making sure the taquitos are not touching each other.  Spray the tops lightly with cooking spray and sprinkle with kosher salt (don’t skip the salt! – perform this step after frying if you fry).

Note: Try to keep anxious little hands from ruining your stack

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until crisp and golden.

Serve with salsa, sour cream or guacamole (Yeah I WISH – I’m SO craving sour cream right now!!).

 

Baked Chicken Taquitos fromTumblewee (the Über quick version)

Ingredients
• 3 ounces cream cheese, softened
• 1/2 package of taco seasoning (we brought some from the US)
• 2 cloves garlic, minced
• 1 onion, chopped
• 2 cups shredded cooked chicken
• 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
• 12 (6 inch) flour tortillas (you can also use corn if you prefer)
• kosher salt

• oil for frying

Directions

Boil chicken in a pot of water with some green chillies added if you want a little kick. Shred chicken and set aside.

Cook garlic and onion until onion is translucent. Add chicken, onion mix, cream cheese, and taco seasoning to large bowl and mix well.

Working with a few tortillas at a time, heat them on an steamer pan in a pot of boiling water to steam them for a couple of minutes.

Spoon 2-3 tablespoons of the chicken mixture onto the lower third of a tortilla. Roll the tortilla as tightly as you can.  Seal the tortilla with cream cheese at the edge.  Set on plate in preparation for frying.

Heat oil in a flat frying pan (you want enough oil to cover the entire bottom of the pan about 1/4 inch).  Place two rolled taquitos seam side down in the oil once it is hot.  Fry until that side is crispy and brown.  Rotate with a fork until all sides are light brown in color.

Remove from oil onto paper towels (or strainer) and sprinkle with salt.  For me . . . please serve with salsa, sour cream or guacamole (I have to live vicariously through you guys while in China).

We loved them! But it’s possible that my tastebuds are a little biased as I haven’t had much American food lately!

meg

7 Responses

  1. I am SO making these tomorrow for dinner. I have everything I need and they look delicious!

    • They were SO good – I’m glad I tried the recipe because Dee loved them (I’m sure the baked version is much healthier than the one we “cooked up” here in China). Thanks for reading!

  2. I like the quick version with Taco Seasoning! I normally have those spices, but it’s easy to just pick up the taco seasoning and be done with the gathering the other ingredients!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog, togetherwechange. I am quite new to the blogging world and I appreciate it. PS– This recipe looks SO good! Yum. I will definitely be exploring some more of your Monday Meals!

    • Of course! I liked looking at everything you had going on! I think the taquitos and apple pancakes were my favorite so far. Keep in touch

  4. Always ready to try a new recipe. Copied into my recipe file. Can’t wait to surprise the family with this!

Leave a Reply

