• follow us:

  • Join 238 other followers

  • weekly features:

  • categories

Wednesday Wants: A Toddler that stays in her bed

So I WAS going to write a Retro Cherry Blossoms Nursery Wednesday Wants but instead I spent hour returning Dee to her bed.  (Even as I write this I’m leading her back in about every two minutes – hey better than every 5 seconds).  This is how it’s been going:

*door creak and open* me get up off the couch

lead her back to her bed while she says “Moo Moo” over and over again (All the Wonderful Sounds Mr. Brown can Do is her bedtime story book right now)

place her in bed, “goodnight honey, love you, see you in the morning”

kiss on the check and exit the room.

continue x 100 or more . . .

She just found out she could get out of bed and open the door all on her own.  For the last couple of days it only extended to her waking up about 30 minutes early and coming into my room but this afternoon and tonight was a “eureka” moment for her and she realized she didn’t have to save this special skill for JUST morning wake up.  She could get up All. The. Time.  Great!  This afternoon only took a couple of times of returning and she finally fell asleep but tonight she’s been pretty persistent.

Luckily, as I write this it’s getting longer – we’ve made it to 5 minutes in between returns and no more “Moo Moos”.  She sees me, turns right around, heads to the bed, and is silent as I tuck her in.

The end has to be in sight right?

Who knows if this is going to work – has anyone else had this problem? How did you handle it?

help meg

10 Responses

  1. Been there done that.The other thing I did was pat on toddler backs for a few minutes until they fell asleep.

    The good news? This means Little Bit is on track develpmentally.Many other toddlers do the same thing. (Hey, I’m all about looking at the bright side!)

    Even better news? You are doing the right thing in your perserverance. In a couple of weeks the new wore off and they went back to staying on bed.

    Good Luck!

    I enjoy your blog and etsy boutique.

    • Kathy,
      I’m glad to hear that it won’t last forever :) I know it’s just about patience but gosh sometimes it’s frustrating sometimes (I know I have many more trials like this one!). Thanks for the kind words and support!

  2. I almost laughed out loud at this but restrained myself cos I’m in a public food court :) I have no children myself but could totally visualise this and, not having to ensure it myself, it’s laughably cute :)

    • Sorry, make that ‘endure’ it myself

    • LOL, thanks that comment made my day :) I’m glad I bring joy to people. It’s a phase and will pass so it’s nice to keep things in perspective and just laugh a little at life. I actually almost laugh every time I take her back in there but then I figure it would just become even more of a game for her and make things worse so I have to stiffle my giggles until I’m out of the room!

  3. […] morning started out with the normal (her freeing herself from her room) at 6:00am and waking up a very sleepy mom.  I came down with a sickness the last couple of days […]

  4. I start singing a lullabye in a very soft melodic voice. I either help them get sleepy that way, or they can’t wait for me to stop, so they close their eyes and don’t move! :+).

    • I WISH it would work that she’d go to sleep while I’m in the room but she never is able to do that. I read her the bedtime story three times in a sleepy voice too three times through but she’s always awake by the end! Then she says night, night and usually goes to bed. But good news! She’s getting better only a couple times up and down now – what a quick learner!!

  5. […] these plaid suspenders!  I just about died when I saw them, and thought those are sooo Jax (well I guess they are so mom, […]

Leave a Reply

