• follow us:

  • Join 238 other followers

  • weekly features:

  • categories

Wednesday Wants: the BEST nipple cream

I hope this post isn’t considered too graphic, but considering the nature of our “business” I thought it was appropriate.  I have a few friends who are pregnant right now.  So that got me to thinking about the “needs” of having a baby.  One of the things that I didn’t realize I needed right away after giving birth to Jax (which is kind of a duh) is nipple cream.

I tried many nipples creams, most of them were too thick for me to even put on comfortably.  Who wants to rub and rub a sore nipple, not me – sorry.  I had issuses with breastfeeding.  I found it to be really hard.  I felt guilty that I couldn’t get it right away.  I remember feeling like I was failing as a mother since I couldn’t breastfeed -comfortably and enjoyably.  In the beginning, I really did not look forward to those moments because it hurt so badly.  However, I really wanted to breastfeed my child for many reasons.

I think we all think – oh, I”ll be able to get.  However, that was SOOOO not the case for me.  I remember being in tears and feeling so overwhelmed, tired, exhausted, and worried that Jax wasn’t getting enough to eat.  I often had to give Jax formula just to get him fed.  I’m sorry – the other thing I couldn’t do was pump when my nipples hurt so much.  One of the times I tried to pump after trying to breastfeed and blood came out – I was so horrified!  I thought something was wrong with me.  So I gave myself a rest (about 24 hours) – used gel pads, nipple cream, and Ibuprofen.  Of course I didn’t give up, I was determined to get it and I’m so glad I did.

Eventually, I got the breastfeeding down, but having the right nipple cream is really crucial and really helps!  It also came in handy if I was accidentally bitten after he started getting his teeth.

My favorite was Motherlove Nipple Cream – it was the easiest to put on, plus it’s organic and safe for your child to ingest – if that ends up being the case.  It has a zero rating on EWG’s Skin Deep Database.  It’s USDA Organic, made with 100% organic ingredients.  I don’t know about you, but I try to put only “clean” products on my skin, especially ones that I feel like could be going onto my skin, and seeping into my breastmilk, thus being ingested by my child – directly or indirectly.

Nipple Cream

Also, I only had to buy one jar and only used half of it!  I would say $10 is a good investment in that sense!   I used it immediately after a breastfeedings and anytime I felt like I needed it.

Well that’s a $10 investment I suggest!  What one did you like?

ash

PS . . . if I have another child I think I’m going to try out their birthing products.

2 Responses

  1. So glad you posted this. I have been telling new moms for years that it hurts but if you get through it, it’s one of the most rewarding experiences in your life!

    • thank you for your comment and stopping by! yes, getting through the first time is hard, but once you get past that it’s easy sailing and so worth it for your child and for you!

Leave a Reply

