• follow us:

  • Join 238 other followers

  • weekly features:

  • categories

Here’s to the Dads

Here’s to all the dad’s out there who have made us all the people we are today.  I know Ash and I are super lucky to have a fabulous dad in our lives and to have fabulous dads for our babies now that we’re grown.   It’s amazing how much a dad can build you into the person you are and what minute silly details make the most difference in your life.  So in honor of Father’s Day I thought I’d share my favorite memory of my dad (well among many but this one just showed he cared).

Remember in high school when it was someones birthday and they got called to the principals office for a special birthday delivery? Everyone would be so intrigued by what they’d walk back through the doors to the classroom holding and awed by how many people loved them!  Not everyone was lucky enough to have parents that would deliver something special on their birthdays but my dad would always make at least one delivery for us during the day.  When we returned from the office it was always with a bouquet of roses in our twin colors – purple for me and pink for Ashley.  I’m not sure why this sticks in my mind so clearly as a favorite memory of my dad but I think it’s because it really set the bar for the men I would date in the future.  We were taught from a young age that it was the thoughtful gifts that made a difference, not necessarily the expensive ones.  You know, that perfect gift that shows the person really knows you?  I think that’s what those flowers always symbolized, that Dad had known us from the very beginning when we dressed in all pink and purple and he still loved us regardless of our poor fashion sense.  It was an “inside” gift and it always meant the world to me.

We love you Dad!

meg & ash

For any of you that want to get your husband/dad something extra special for the month of June, Xenotees has offered tumblewee readers a special discount code for 20% off of anything from her store!  Just enter tumblewee20 at checkout!  Happy Father’s Day!

 

Leave a Reply

